French Language Programs - Employment Opportunities

There are numerous French speaking employment opportunities throughout the school boards of Nova Scotia. Below you will find French programs being offered by Boards in Nova Scotia.

Immersion French

In Early Immersion program, between 80%-100% of instruction is provided in French. The program begins in grade Primary and continues to grade 12. At the elementary level, a minimum of 80% of instruction is provided in French, and approximately 70% of instruction is in French at the middle school level. At the high school level, students must take 9 credits in French.

In Late Immersion programs, students receive 70% of instruction in French. In the middle school years, students take five courses where instruction is provided in French. At the high school level, students must take nine credits offered in French.

Core French

All school Boards in the province offer Core French classes from grades 4 to 12. Core French is taught and studied in regular instructional periods.

Integrated French

For students who wish to develop a greater degree of French language, most schools Boards offers an Integrated French program from grade 7 to 12. The program involves an accelerated French Language Arts course as well as French instruction in Social Studies.

Intensive French Program

The Intensive French program is an opportunity for grade 6 students to learn French as a second language. This program is a one year program where students receive intensive instruction in French for five months of the school year. When not in the Intensive French program of the year, students receive regular grade 6 instruction in English. Mathematics, Physical Education and Music are taught in English all year.

French first language education (écoles francophones)

The Conseil scolaire acadien provincial (CSAP) offers French first language education in its province-wide network of schools. For more information on CSAP employment opportunities, please access CSAP career page: Conseil Scolaire Acadien Provincial.

For More Information on French Language Programs

Nova Scotia French Second Language Programs

Programmes de langue française – Opportunités de travail

Il existe de nombreuses opportunités de travail en français au sein des conseils scolaires de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Vous trouverez ci-dessous les programmes en français qui sont offerts par les conseils de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Immersion française

Dans le programme d’immersion française précoce, entre 80 à 100 % de l’éducation est en français. Le programme commence en maternelle et continue jusqu’à la douzième année. Au niveau primaire, un minimum de 80 % des cours sont en français, et environ 70 % des cours sont en français dans les écoles intermédiaires. Au secondaire, les élèves doivent prendre neuf crédits en français.

Dans le programme d’immersion tardive, les élèves reçoivent 70 % de leurs cours en français. À l’école intermédiaire, ils doivent suivre cinq cours en français, et au secondaire doivent prendre neuf crédits en français.

Français de base

Tous les conseils scolaires de la province offrent des cours de français de base à partir de la 4e année jusqu’à la 12e année. Le français de base est enseigné et étudié lors des périodes scolaires régulières.

Français intégré

Dans le cas d’élèves qui souhaitent développer leurs habiletés en français, la majorité des conseils scolaires offrent un programme de français intégré des grades 7 à 12. Le programme comprend un cours d’art français accéléré ainsi qu’un cours de sciences humaines en français.

Programme de français intensif

Le programme de français intensif offre aux élèves de la 6e année l’occasion d’apprendre le français comme langue seconde. Lors de ce programme d’un an, les élèves recevront une éducation intensive en français pendant cinq mois de l’année scolaire. Pour le reste de l’année scolaire, ils recevront une éducation de 6e année normale en anglais. La mathématique, l’éducation physique et la musique sont enseignés en anglais pendant toute l’année.

Éducation en français langue maternelle (écoles francophones)

Le  Conseil scolaire acadien provincial (CSAP)  offre une éducation en français langue maternelle dans son réseau d’écoles à la grandeur de la province. Pour plus d’information sur les opportunités d’emploi au sein du CSAP, veuillez visiter la page de carrières du CSAP Conseil Scolaire Acadien Provincial..

Pour plus d’information sur les programmes de français

Nova Scotia French Second Language Programs