Employment Equity

Nova Scotia values and fosters a school environment that respects, celebrates and values racial and cultural diversity. https://www.ednet.ns.ca/parents-families/equity-support-students/cultural-equity Employment Equity: An approach designed to remove systemic barriers to equality of opportunity in employment by identifying and eliminating discriminatory policies and practices, redressing the effects of historic and continued discrimination, and affirming appropriate representation of designated groups. (Source: Department of Education: Racial Equity Policy)

Employment Equity

The principles of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and the Nova Scotia Human Rights Act, and the School Board’s policies on Race Relations, Cross Cultural Understanding and Human Rights will be important considerations for employment. The School Boards are committed to employment equity and have individual processes to meet equitable hiring. All Board employees shall be provided the opportunity to complete an Employment Equity Employee Self-identification Survey with in SuccessFactors.

Employment Equity

The Employment Equity practice includes: - Working towards a qualified labor pool which reflects the diversity in society. - Giving serious consideration to applicants from the following groups: Aboriginal peoples, people of African descent, people of racialized groups, women, and persons with disabilities. - Establishing an environment supportive of the principles of Employment Equity which would attract and retain members of designated groups and encourage all employees to self-identify.

Employment Equity

Équité en matière d’emploi

La Nouvelle-Écosse privilégie et encourage un environnement scolaire qui respecte, célèbre et accorde beaucoup d’importance à la diversité raciale et culturelle. https://www.ednet.ns.ca/parents-families/equity-support-students/cultural-equity   Équité en matière d’emploi  : Une approche conçue afin d’enlever les obstacles systémiques à l’équité en matière d’emploi en soulignant et en éliminant les politiques et pratiques discriminatoires, en redressant les effets de la discrimination historique et continue et en affirmant une représentation appropriée des groupes désignés. (Source  : Ministère de l’Éducation : Politique sur l’équité raciale)

Équité en matière d’emploi

Les principes de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, de la Loi sur les droits de la personne de la Nouvelle-Écosse et des politiques du Conseil scolaire concernant les relations raciales, la compréhension interculturelle et les droits humains seront des considérations importantes pour l’embauche. Les conseils scolaires sont engagés à garantir l’équité en matière d’emploi et disposent de processus individuels afin d’assurer une embauche équitable. Tous les employés des conseils scolaires auront l’occasion de remplir un sondage d’auto-identification d’équité d’emploi dans SuccessFactors.

Équité en matière d’emploi

Les pratiques d’équité en matière d’emploi comprennent  : Viser un bassin d’employés qualifiés qui reflète la diversité de notre société. – Envisager sérieusement les candidats provenant des groupes suivants  : Autochtones, personnes de descendance africaine, personnes de groupes raciaux, femmes et personnes handicapées. – Établir un environnement qui supporte les principes d’équité en matière d’emploi afin d’attirer et de conserver des membres des groupes désignés et d’encourager tous les employés à s’auto-identifier.

Équité en matière d’emploi