Education and Early Childhood Development

The Department of Education and Early Childhood Development has a broad mandate that includes responsibility for early childhood development and the education of children and youth through the public school system.

The department’s mandate is carried out through the provision of child, youth, and family-centered programs and services early learning and care programs for children from birth to school entry high quality educational programs and student services in both of Canada’s official languages strong assessment and evaluation services a focus on creating a more culturally-responsive education system to support inclusive student learning a progressive and responsive policy environment effective financial management, facilities planning, and comptrollership effective opportunities for ongoing, high-quality professional learning for teachers and principals https://www.ednet.ns.ca/.

Minister’s action Plan to Modernize and Improve Education System

Teacher Certification

A valid Nova Scotia Teachers' Certificate is  required  in order to be employed as a teacher in the Nova Scotia public school system.  This  site provides critical information related to the certification process, teaching standards, teaching service and  salaries, appeals, and legislation. All forms related to teacher  certification can be located on this site. An online payment service is available for some fee based services. Visit the  Teacher Certification  web site. https://certification.ednet.ns.ca/

Specialized Roles Information

Apprenticeship Information

The Department of Labour and Advanced Education works to provide fairness, safety and prosperity for all Nova Scotians by helping them live, learn and work to their highest potential. http://novascotia.ca/lae/

Éducation et Développement de la petite enfance

Le ministère de l’Éducation et du Développement de la petite enfance est doté d’un vaste mandat qui englobe la responsabilité du développement de la petite enfance et l’éducation des enfants et des jeunes dans le système scolaire public.

Le ministère exécute son mandat en fournissant des programmes et services axés sur les enfants, les jeunes et les familles, des programmes de soins et d’apprentissage précoce depuis la naissance des enfants jusqu’à leur entrée à l’école, des programmes éducationnels et des services aux élèves de haute qualité dans les deux langues officielles du Canada et des services d’évaluation en profondeur. Le ministère vise la création d’un système éducationnel qui tiendrait compte des réalités culturelles afin d’encourager l’éducation inclusive, un milieu politique progressif et réceptif, une gestion financière efficace, une planification des installations et des occasions de contrôle pour un apprentissage professionnel continue de haute qualité pour les enseignants et les directeurs. https://www.ednet.ns.ca/.

Plan d’action de la ministre afin de moderniser et d’améliorer le système éducationnel

Certification des enseignants

Un certificat d’enseignement de la Nouvelle-Écosse valide est requis afin d’enseigner dans le système scolaire public de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Ce site fournit des informations essentielles concernant le processus de certification, les normes d’enseignement, les services d’enseignement et les salaires, demandes et lois. Tous les formulaires concernant la certification des enseignants sont disponibles sur ce site. Un service de paiement en ligne est disponible pour certains services imposant des frais. Visitez le site Web de certification des enseignants. https://certification.ednet.ns.ca/

Information sur les rôles spécialisés

Informations sur les apprentissages

Le ministère de l'Enseignement supérieur et du Travail vise l’équité, la sécurité et la prospérité pour tous les Néo-Écossais en les aidant à vivre, apprendre et travailler selon leur plein potentiel. http://novascotia.ca/lae/